English Language Arts

English is art and communication rolled into one subject. The English department strives to instill a love of reading and writing by exploring the language’s creative dimensions with students. The faculty also helps students develop skills essential to thriving in social and business environments powered by social media and other digital communication channels. Instruction reinforces fundamentals such as spelling, grammar, and reading comprehension, then builds on those skills.

  • Reading and studying literature develops critical thinking and analytical skills.
  • Writing reports and themed papers teaches students to organize their thoughts and make coherent points, skills that will help throughout their lives.

English Mission Statement

The mission of the English curriculum is to prepare students to be college and career ready in reading, writing, speaking, listening and language comprehension.

English Department Night: Wednesday

English Department

Phone number: (401) 298 – 6657

Department Head: Margaret Pouliot

margaret.pouliot@warwickschools.org

Brian Callahan                       brian.callahan@warwickschools.org

Erik Carlson                            erik.carlson@warwickschools.org

Richard Denningham           richard.denningham@warwickschools.org

Gina Fairbanks                      gina.fairbanks@warwickschools.org

Andrea Hainey-LaPierre      andrea.hainey@warwickschools.org

David Kearsley                      david.kearsley@warwickschools.org

Jeffrey Lawton                       jeffrey.lawton@warwickschools.org

Sean Magee                           sean.magee@warwickschools.org

Hugh Markey                         hugh.markey@warwickschools.org

Kathleen McCrillis-Byrne     kathleen.mccrillis@warwickschools.org

Paula Merdink                       paula.merdink@warwickschools.org

Joanne Muto                          joanne.muto@warwickschools.org

Kimberly Parente                  kimberly.parente@warwickschools.org

Cynthia Rix                             cynthia.rix@warwickschools.org

Literacy Support:

Sara Bloodworth                   sara.bloodworth@warwickschools.org